Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Oxford and District Billiards & Snooker Association
Founded in 1926 Contact Us 
Sponsored by Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Welcome guest. Please login to enter results, access members' contact details or search for matches.
Nov 28 2005
There were some good matches in the Sherlock Cup but arguably the best result saw Littlemore RBL B from Division Five beat division three side Morris Motors A. Doug Baker won the first frame for the Motormen, but from then on it was one way traffic. Doug Turner replied against Baker to take frame 2. Anthony Turner then beat Des Truss 46-43, 97-39 with Steve Fitzgerald wrapping thins up 43-38, 53-27 against Tony Baker.

New Club B also beat opposition from a higher division with a 4-2 win against Witney D. Paul Moss and Matthew Challen were inspired for New Club, Moss making breaks of 14, 16, 18 and 19 during his 93-35, 64-31 win over Andy Keeler while Challen hit 33 and 20 in the first of his frames against Paul Keenlyside. Challen won 111-7, 71-36. The remaining two frames went to Witney, with Chris Keeler edging Simon Marriott 59-53, 66-41.

Division four leaders County C edged past Division three strugglers Cowley Con A on aggregate, with most of the damage done by Kevin Hicks who hit a break of 39 in his 121-18 demolition of Keith Pearce in the opening frame! To his credit, Pearce replied to win the second frame 59-46. Nick Anderson restored County’s lead with a 55-20 win in the third frame, but Malcolm Grieveson took the fourth frame 60-32 to bring Cowley level again. The final two frames between Arthur Coakley and Paul Paddick were very close with Coakley winning frame five 52-50 to put Cowley 3-2 ahead. The final frame also went down to the final black and remarkably the frame score was identical to the fifth, but this time it was Paddick who prevailed. 3-3, but County took the win on aggregate thanks to Hicks’ achievements.

Cowley Con C also lost on aggregate, going down to Morris Motors B. Mark Bayliss beat James Kerr 62-28, 63-26 to put Cowley ahead, before Chris Martin beat Jim Smart Snr 79-31 to pull a frame back for Morris’s. Smart then took the fourth frame 50-30 to put Cowley 3-1 up. Paul Smith destroyed Chick Wheatley 107-3 to win the fifth frame and take the match to a decider. Smith prevailed 54-40 to leave tie the frame scores at 3-3 leaving his huge margin of victory in the penultimate frame as the deciding factor.

The top two sides in division three clashed with second placed Oracle C progressing at the expense of Riley E. Simon Saunders and David Lo won a frame apiece as did Richard Saunders and Weifeng (Joe) Zhao. With the match finely poised at 2-2 Jamie Saczak and Cheng Wui Kuen (Kelvin) contested two close and exciting frames, Saczak eventually winning 48-35, 42-40.

East Oxford Con B had nothing to shout about until the very last frame of their match with Eynsham B. Jason Stubbs took the first two frames from Tony Barresi 53-40, 59-18, while Mick Whittington suffered similar fate 56-42, 61-55 against Alan Wakefield. Simon Harbour beat Julio Barresi 48-39 to make it 5-0 before Barresi salvaged the last frame 41-39.