Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Oxford and District Billiards & Snooker Association
Founded in 1926 Contact Us 
Sponsored by Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Welcome guest. Please login to enter results, access members' contact details or search for matches.
Jan 9 2006
In Premier-Div 1, County A continued their relentless march to a third consecutive Premier Division title following a 5-1 win against Cherwell A. The only highlight for Cherwell was Matthew Webb’s win against Olly Hoeblyn in the final frame.

County’s nearest rivals, Fieldside A came a cropper to 1st division leaders Riley C. Karl Walker made a break of 58 during his 2-0 win over James Stone, but the tide then turned in Riley’s favour. Chris Stone overcame Paul Robinson 69-56, 64-18 with Andy MacBryan beating Bob Chivers to complete Riley’s victory.

Witney A beat arch rivals Thame A 5-1 while New Club A beat Riley B by the same margin.

In Division Two, the leaders Witney A secured a 4-2 win over Abingdon RBL A, while an improving County D side trounced Thame B 5-1.

There were draws for Riley D v House B and Woodstock B v Ashton A

There was a “top of the table clash” in Division Three, which resulted in second placed Oracle C inflicting a first defeat of the season on Riley E. Simon Saunders shared the honours with David Lo, Lo putting in a 34 clearance to snatch the first frame. Saunders took the second frame on the black. Richard Saunders was off form and lost the first of his frames against Joe Zhao. However Saunders staged a recovery and several small breaks saw him win the second frame to tie the match at 2-2. Jamie Saczak defeated Kelvin Cheng to complete victory for the Oracle boys. Saczak made several good breaks, notably 25 in the fifth frame and 20 in the last.

The Cowley Con teams suffered mixed fates. The A team beat Morris Motors 4-2, the B team lost 4-2 to Morris Motors A and the C team drew with Headington RBL A.

Perhaps the most surprising result of the week came in Division Four where the leaders County C lost their 100% record following a draw with mid table Witney D. Nigel Wilkins and Andy Keeler shared frames, before Paul Keenlyside put Witney 3-1 ahead with victory over Nick Anderson. Unfortunately for Witney, Chris Keeler couldn’t prevent Kevin Hicks from winning the remaining frames for County.

Elsewhere, Morris Motors C picked up a 4-2 win at Eynsham B and Ashton B beat East Oxford Con B by the same score. Cowley Con D were handed victory when their opposition, Oracle D, failed to show up.

In Division Five, the leaders Littlemore RBL C drew with promotion rivals New Club B, while second placed Eynsham C were held to a draw by bottom placed Eynsham D.