Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Oxford and District Billiards & Snooker Association
Founded in 1926 Contact Us 
Sponsored by Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Welcome guest. Please login to enter results, access members' contact details or search for matches.
Billiards week 10 report
Nov 23 2005
Witney A have increased their lead at the top after their 3-0 win over Thame B. Second placed Oracle A were defeated by Division two leaders Headington Con A 2-1, and Morris Motors A who are bottom of division one surprised Fieldside A beating them 2-1. Reigning champions County A are making their presence felt after a disastrous start and now occupy third place after another 3-0 win, this time over Eynsham A.

In division two, Headington Con A lead with 17 points, but Cowley Con B now occupy second place with 13 despite losing 2-1 to colleagues Cowley Con A. Ashton A and Thame B are joint third on 12, both have a game in hand.

Morris Motors A ended their four match losing streak by surprising Fieldside A to win 2-1 despite losing the opening game when Roger Tomlin (+50) lost to Norman Woodcock (+70) 121-150. Doug Baker (+60) finally won a game when he beat Richard Sambell (+20) 200-192 and then Bob Hayward (+60) ended Paul Robinson's (-20) winning run of 8 consecutive wins, beating him 200-178.

At Headington Con Club, the A team were playing second placed Oracle A from division one and beat them 2-1. Terry Walsh (+80) was in superb form and destroyed Ted Milsom (+50) 150-60 making a 21 break. Richard Connerty (+80) levelled for Oracle A by beating Geoff Barrett (+100) 150-142. John Williams (+80) then won the match for Headington Con A by beating Jack Woods (+90) 150-101.

At Eynsham, the visitors County A won comfortably 3-0. James Thorpe (scr) beat Michael McCluskey (+90) 200-120 helped by a 38 break. Jimmy Ewers (scr) beat Ken Leach (+90) 200-152 and Lewis Bland (+100) beat Roy Gascoyne (+110) 100-77.

Witney A visited Thame B and beat them 3-0. Terry Cook (+30) just squeezed past Tom Fletcher (+80) 200-195. Chris Warren (+100) beat Peter Hawkes (+110) 100-76 and Gavin Wright (+20) beat Nigel Bossom (+60) 200-167 helped by a 42 break.

In the local derby at Cowley Con Club, the A team beat their B team 2-1. Dick Hashman (-20) beat Colin Simpson (+50) 200-155 and made a 33 break. John Simpson (+40) levelled for the B team beating the luckless Arthur Coakley (+90) 200-147 making a 31 break. Keith Pearce (+60) won the match for the A team by comfortably beating Ken Olive (+60) 150-94.