Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Oxford and District Billiards & Snooker Association
Founded in 1926 Contact Us 
Sponsored by Oracle Pool & Snooker Club
Welcome guest. Please login to enter results, access members' contact details or search for matches.
Oct 31 2005
League action took a back seat this week in favour of cup action with the first rounds of the Simonds and Sherlock team cups.

Riley E cruised into the second round of the Sherlock Cup at the expense of House Club A. Weifeng (Joe) Zhao and Brian Field fought out two close frames, with Zhao emerging the winner 53-40, 63-47. David Lo then defeated Sam Nichols 63-29, 59-24 to make it 4-0 and end the match as a contest. House Club's misery was complete thanks to Jaz Thapar's 79-40, 44-34 victory over Tony Smith.

East Oxford Con B and Littlemore RBL C contested an entertaining match with the outcome going to the wire. Robby Barresi took the first frame for East Oxford Con 50-36, before Lee Haggerty made it 1 all with a 5-44 win in frame two. Tony Barresi pipped Leigh Davies by 4 points in the third frame to give EOC a 2-1 (17 point aggregate) lead, only to see Davies take the fourth frame by 32 points and swing the overall aggregate 15 points in Littlemore's favour. Julio Barresi took the fifth frame 65-12 to give EOC the lead for the third time and more crucially, swing the aggregate firmly in EOC's favour. Gavin Murray took the final frame 48-36 to level the frame scores at 3-3, but his marging of victory was not enough to prevent EOC from taking the match on aggregate.

The aggregate points rule also saw Witney D overcome Cowley Con D. Andy Keeler beat Pete Truby 79-38, 50-45 to give Witney the lead, but Karl Lewis replied for the visitors 51-38, 39-31 to make it 2 and reduce the aggregate arrears to 25 points. Chris Keeler took the fifth frame 65-35, to put Witney in a strong position. Simon Painter did well to take the final frame, but he was unable to recover the deficit.

New Club B came away from Eynsham C with a 4-2 win. Paul Moss made breaks of 24 and 31 to put New Club in command with a 2-0 win against Dave Walker. Matthew Challen then beat Adam Hingley to give New Club an unassailable lead before Daniel Brooks recovered some pride for Eynsham with victory over Simon Marriott in the last two frames.

Division 3 high flyers, Oracle C were given a run for their money by struggling Division 5 side Yarnton RBL A, but were always in front. Matty Bramall took the first frame 58-29 to give Oracle an early lead, but Mick Aust replied to win their second frame 59-50. Richard Saunders put Oracle 2-1 up, breaks of 18 and 11 being enough to see off Lee Parsons 63-37. There was a similar outcome in frame 4, Saunders winning 65-35 thanks to breaks of 17 and 15. With Oracle now 3-1 up Eddie Christiansen needed to win the last two frames by an aggregate of 77 points. Christiansen took the fifth frame from Jamie Saczak 64-51, but this was to prove academic as Saczak responded with an 18 break in the final frame to win 53-21.

Westcott A from Division 5 turned in a good performance against Division 3 side Headington RBL A and can hold their heads high despite going down 4-2. Francis Maplethorpe put Headington in front with a 53-33, 40-13 win over Brian Hawes. Elaine Cox took the third frame 46-17. Pelham Sparks made a fight of it in the fourth before losing out 55-47. Although too late for the match outcome, Andy Huxley beat Tony Swatton to claim the last two frames for Westcott 44-34, 57-47.

County C, Cowley Con C and Morris Motors A, also progressed to the second round.

As at the date of this report, results were still awaited from first round matches not referred to in this report